Seven Weeks: A Declaration of Motivation

Exactly 7 weeks from now, I will be on a plane in the process of landing in Honolulu, HI. I am missing Ian so much and I can’t wait to get there.

 

I have 7 weeks to get myself in the physical condition that I want to be in. I’m going to be walking around constantly, hiking, and at the beach. I want to be in good shape for this. Its not like I’m just now starting to do the work to get in shape. I’ve been working for months now. Really, I’ve been working for a couple years and I’d just really like to be comfortable on a beach in a bikini. I don’t want to be worried about how I think I look. What a terrible set of thoughts that would be to waste on a beautiful, month long, vacation with the my favorite person.

So part of me is really trying to put in the work to get where I want to be physically, but the other part of me is trying to work on my mindset and be more body positive. I’ve always had body image issues. I don’t think there are many women, or men for that matter, who haven’t had them at one point, or another, or as long as they can remember.

I stay pretty active. I get at least 30 minutes of activity in every work day. I make it to the gym some of those days as well. It’s my eating that I need to get under control. Along with a few more trips to the gym.

But this is it. Less than two months until the big trip.

I have two choices. I can keep giving in to my cravings, boredom, and laziness, which would result in no change in fitness or health. Or I could get my shit together, eat right, and quit skipping the gym, and be confident in my appearance and physical abilities during my once in a lifetime vacation opportunity.

Time to put on my big girl panties. Option two it is.

Leave a Reply

